Tetrahedron Young Investigator Award Winners

2023 Tetrahedron Young Investigator Awards

For Organic Synthesis

Professor Bill Morandi
ETH Zürich, Switzerland

Professor Bill Morandi

Professor Bill Morandi studied at ETH Zürich (2003–2008), receiving a BSc in Biology and a MSc in Chemical Biology. From 2008 to 2012, he pursued his PhD in organic synthesis at the same institution in the labs of Professor Erick M. Carreira. Afterwards, he moved to the California Institute of Technology (Pasadena, CA) for a postdoctoral stay with Professor Robert H. Grubbs. From 2014 to 2018, he was an independent Max Planck Research Group Leader at the Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung (Mülheim, Germany), before subsequently returning to ETH Zürich as a Professor in 2018. He is currently Full Professor of Synthetic Organic Chemistry and heads the Institute of Organic Chemistry (Laboratorium für Organische Chemie) at ETH Zürich.

His research program targets the design and development of new catalytic reactions for the synthesis of small molecules and materials, as well as the valorization of renewable feedstocks and waste material. He has received numerous awards, among them a Novartis Early Career Award in Organic Chemistry, the Carl Duisberg Memorial Prize from the German Chemical Society and a selection as a C&EN's Talented 12.

For Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry

Georg Winter, PhD
CeMM Principal Investigator

Georg Winter, PhD

Dr Georg Winter performed his graduate studies at CeMM, working on elucidating the mechanism of action of cancer drugs. Supported by an EMBO fellowship, he published the first paper reporting on in vivo target protein degradation (Winter et al., Science 2015). He was recruited as a CeMM Principal Investigator in June 2016. Thematically, his lab works at the interface of chemical biology, cancer, and gene control. His group aims to innovate novel pharmacologic strategies that allow us to probe, understand and eventually disrupt aberrant transcriptional circuits in cancer.

Dr. Winter's research has led to the incorporation of C4 Therapeutics. His group is supported by several national and international grants and fellowships including an ERC Starting Grant and an Aspire Award from the Mark Foundation. Dr. Winter's contributions to the field of targeted protein degradation were acknowledged via multiple prices and awards, including the German Lectureship for Chemical Biology, the Wilson S. Stone Memorial Award from MD Anderson, the Eppendorf Award for European Scientists and the Elisabeth Lutz Award of the Austrian Academy of Sciences.

Many congratulations to both winners.

Award Prize

Both Professor Morandi and Dr Winter will each give a plenary lecture at the 23rd Tetrahedron Symposium, in Gothenburg, Sweden, where they will be formally presented with their award. Each recipient also receives a certificate and an award of US $5,000. Furthermore, two special issues will be compiled in their honour. Like the Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry, which these awards complement, the Tetrahedron Young Investigator Awards are bestowed on an annual basis.

About the Tetrahedron Young Investigator Awards

The Tetrahedron Young Investigator Awards were created in 2005 by the Executive Board of Editors and the Publisher of Tetrahedron Publications. These two awards are presented to two individuals under 40 years of age who have exhibited "exceptional creativity and dedication" in the fields of Organic Synthesis and of Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry respectively.

Each award has a separate voting committee, with the Editors of Tetrahedron and Tetrahedron Letters voting on the Organic Synthesis Award, and the Editors of Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry and Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry Letters, voting on the Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry Award.


  • 2023: Bill Morandi, Organic Synthesis; Georg Winter, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2022: Franziska Schoenebeck, Organic Synthesis; Yimon Aye, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2021: Guangbin Dong, Organic Synthesis; Neal Devaraj, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2020: Nuno Maulide, Organic Synthesis; Emily Balskus, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2019: Ryan Shenvi, Organic Synthesis; Raphaël Rodriguez, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2018: Seth Herzon, Organic Synthesis; Matthew Fuchter, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2017: Ang Li, Organic Synthesis; Xiaoguang Lei, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2016: Neil Garg, Organic Synthesis; Matthew Disney, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2015: Yoshiaki Nakao, Organic Synthesis; Maja Köhn, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2014: Sarah E. Reisman, Organic Synthesis; Rudi Fasan, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2013: Melanie Sanford, Organic Synthesis; Ashraf Brik, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2012: Zhang-Jie Shi, Organic Synthesis; B.G. Davis, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2011: F. Dean Toste, Organic Synthesis; Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2010: Brian Stoltz, Organic Synthesis; Peter Seeberger, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2009: Michael Krische, Organic Synthesis; Carlos Barbas, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2008: Justin du Bois, Organic Synthesis; Benjamin Cravatt, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2007: John Hartwig, Organic Synthesis; Wilfred van der Donk, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2006: Erick Carreira, Organic Synthesis; Jon Ellman, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2005: David MacMillan, Organic Synthesis; Laura Kiessling, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry